University of Cambridge Newnham College Scholarships for International Students in the UK 2023/2024

About the Scholarship:

Newnham College offers the University of Cambridge Scholarships annually to students applying for M.Phil. or Ph.D. programs. These scholarships are often combined with funding from other organizations, such as the Cambridge Trust and Faculty funding, to cover the full cost of the award.

The University of Cambridge Newnham College Scholarships program includes various scholarships, each with its own criteria and conditions. These scholarships provide financial support to outstanding international students pursuing postgraduate studies at the University of Cambridge.

Scholarships Included:

  1. Anna Watkins Scholarship
  2. The Allan & Nesta Ferguson Scholarship
  3. Cambridge Australia Studentship
  4. Dorothy Whitelock Studentship
  5. Hilda Richardson Scholarship
  6. Laing Developing Countries Graduate Scholarship
  7. Margaret Anstee Studentship
  8. Mary Anne Ewart Scholarship
  9. Mary Rogers Scholarship
  10. Menca de Leoni Scholarship
  11. Muir Wood Scholarship
  12. Rhoda M. Dorsey Scholarship

About the University of Cambridge:

The University of Cambridge, located in Cambridge, England, is a renowned public collegiate research institution. Established in 1209, it is the third-oldest continuously operating university globally. Cambridge is often paired with the University of Oxford as part of the “Oxbridge” tradition, and both institutions share many similarities. Cambridge comprises six schools, over 150 academic departments, faculties, and 31 constituent colleges, each with a degree of autonomy in staffing and operations. All students at Cambridge are affiliated with one of the colleges.

Cambridge is known for its weekly small-group supervisions at the colleges, which are a central part of undergraduate education. Additionally, the university has several cultural and scientific museums, including the Fitzwilliam Museum and the Cambridge University Botanic Garden. The Cambridge University Library is one of the world’s largest academic libraries, with over 16 million books.

Cambridge consistently ranks among the top universities globally. In the QS World University Rankings, it is currently ranked second worldwide (2023). The Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) ranks Cambridge as the fourth-best university globally. According to the Times Higher Education rankings for 2023, Cambridge is ranked third in the world, tied with Stanford University.

Scholarship Value:

The value of the University of Cambridge Newnham College Scholarships is up to £12,000.

Eligibility Criteria:

To be considered for the University of Cambridge Newnham College Scholarships, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • International students are eligible to apply.
  • Applicants must be enrolling in a full-time M.Phil. or Ph.D. program.
  • Candidates should hold a first-class degree in their field of study.
  • Evidence of English language proficiency is required.
  • Preference will be given to students who select Newnham College as their first or second choice.

Application Process:

To be considered for the scholarship, students must indicate their interest in Cambridge Scholarships on their Postgraduate Admissions application form. Applicants who select Newnham College as their first or second choice will be given preference. Scholarships are typically awarded from April to July. Detailed descriptions of the available funds can be found on the official website.

Application Deadline:

Not Specified

the author