AustraliaCanadaNew ZealandUKUSA

Edinburgh Short Story Award in UK, Ireland, Canada, USA, Australia, and New Zealand

The Edinburgh Short Story Award, formerly known as the Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition, invites writers worldwide to participate in its prestigious literary contest. With a rich history spanning a decade, this award offers writers the opportunity to showcase their talent and compete for substantial prizes.

Application Deadline: February 29, 2024

Brief Description:

  • Provider: Scottish Arts Trust
  • Department: Short Story Competition
  • Award: £3,000 (First Prize), £500 (Second Prize), £250 (Third Prize), £750 (Isobel Lodge Award), £300 (Write Mango Flash Award)
  • Access Mode: Online
  • Number of Awards: Multiple
  • Nationality: Open to writers worldwide
  • Location: UK, Ireland, Canada, USA, Australia, and New Zealand

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Eligible Countries: Writers worldwide
  • Admissible Criteria: Applicants must be unpublished writers, with specific eligibility for the Isobel Lodge Award if living in Scotland.

How to Apply: Interested writers can submit their stories online from December 1, 2023, to February 29, 2024. The entry fee is £10 per story, with exceptions for certain individuals in Scotland.


  • First Prize: £3,000
  • Second Prize: £500
  • Third Prize: £250
  • Isobel Lodge Award: £750 (Exclusive to unpublished writers living in Scotland)
  • Write Mango Flash Award: £300
  • Publication: Top twenty stories will be published in the competition’s anthology.
  • Story Awards Dinner: Finalists are invited to the Story Awards Dinner, scheduled for September 28, 2024, at the Scottish Arts Club in Edinburgh.

Don’t miss this opportunity to participate in a renowned literary competition and showcase your storytelling skills to a global audience. Enter the Edinburgh Short Story Award today and become part of a tradition celebrating the art of short fiction.

the author